• Special Education Department

    The Special Education Department provides a full continuum of services and placement to meet the needs of students between the ages of 3 and 22 who are found to be eligible for special education due to a disability that adversely impacts their educational functioning. This includes Extended School Year Programming for maintenance of skills. Eligibility for Extended School Year is based on evidence of substantial regression and recoupment issues. 

    Once students are found eligible for special education and Individualized Educational Program (IEP) is developed. The IEP details the student’s needs as well as what will be done to address those needs. Related services are designed to support students in benefitting from special education and include but are not limited to social work, psychological services, speech/language therapy, transportation, assistive technology, occupational and physical therapy, and adaptive physical education. It is important to note that related services are determined based on educational needs and differ in eligibility and services provided within a medical model.

    Students with disabilities who do not qualify for an Individualized Education Program (“IEP”) may qualify for services under Section 504 of the Federal Rehabilitation Act of 1973, if the student: (1) has a physical or mental impairment that substantially limits one or more major life activities, (2) has a record of a physical or mental impairment, or (3) is regarded as having a physical or mental impairment. 

    If you believe your student meets one of the above categories and requires reasonable accommodations, you may contact the Assistant Superintendent, Dr. Christopher Silagi, at christopher.silagi@cusd200.org or 630-682-2032 for more information regarding the identification, assessment, and placement of your student.

  • Erica Ekstrom, Executive Director of Special Education

    Megan Burress, Assistant Director of Special Education, Grades 6-8
    630-821-7900 x4519

    Edison Middle School
    Franklin Middle School
    Hubble Middle School
    Monroe Middle School

    Mary Davis, Assistant Director of Special Education, Grades K-5 

    Lincoln Elementary
    Emerson Elementary
    Longfellow Elementary
    Sandburg Elementary
    Whittier Elementary
    Johnson Elementary

    Stephanie Farrelly, Director of Early Childhood Education 

    Jefferson Early Childhood Center

    Susan Waters, Director of Special Education, High School & Transition 

    Wheaton North High School
    Wheaton Warrenville South High School

    Scott Radford, Director of Special Education, Grades K-5

    Bower Elementary
    Hawthorne Elementary
    Madison Elementary
    Pleasant Hill Elementary
    Lowell Elementary
    Wiesbrook Elementary
    Washington Elementary

    Tracy Macconnachie, Administrative Assistant

    Bridget Dickinson, Coordinator of IDEA Grants/Medicaid