• Engage 200
    District 200 Announces Engagement Program Name and Co-Chairs
    District 200 Program - Engage200 - to be Led by Community Members

    December 10, 2013
    We are happy to announce that Liz Corry and Scott Brown will serve as co-chairs of Engage200, a community engagement process that will provide input and feedback to the Board of Education about the future of schools in District 200.

    Liz Corry and her husband Bill have lived in Wheaton for 24 years and have four children who have graduated from District 200 schools. As a former Wheaton City Council Member from 2003-2011, Liz understands the importance of connecting with the community and building consensus for the future. "We are an engaged community filled with residents who value education. Engage200 is important because anytime we can create a meaningful dialog between citizens and elected officials, we can find solutions to issues we face and plan appropriately and creatively for the future," says Liz. Liz has also been very involved with the Wheaton Chamber of Commerce, DuPage Community Development Commission, the Central DuPage AM Rotary Club, the League of Women Voters and various other community organizations while living in the community.

    Scott Brown has lived in Wheaton for 27 years. He and his wife Jennifer are both graduates of Wheaton Warrenville South High School and have two children, one of which is a student at Longfellow Elementary in Wheaton. A Partner at Retirement Advisors since 2009, Scott is a graduate of Wheaton College and has served on various community committees including a District 200 Finance Committee from 2008-2010 and is a current member of the Moody Church Executive & Finance Committee. Scott firmly believes that parents can and should participate in the upbringing of their children. 揃oth my wife and I are products of District 200 and now my children have the opportunity to receive a high-quality education in our incredible community. I look forward to the community conversations and hearing what our community would like to see out of our schools in the future," says Scott.

    These co-chairs will head up a citizen-led facilitating team that will coordinate, host and oversee the entire community engagement program. Information gathered from the workshops will serve as the basis for a summary report that will be presented to the Board of Education this summer.

    Facilitating Team Members include Chris Crabtree (Winfield), Judith Zapf (Carol Stream), Scott MacKay (Wheaton), Harold Lonks (Winfield), Eleanor McNear (Wheaton), Bob Hupp (Warrenville), Steve Johnson (Wheaton), Charlie McKenna (Wheaton), Jeff Brassel (Wheaton), and Jenny Sterba (Wheaton). Tom Grace, Vice President of the Wheaton Warrenville Education Association (WWEA) and Penny Coyle, Co-President of the Classified Education Association, along with Dr. Brian Harris, Superintendent, Erica Loiacono, Director of Public Relations and Bill Farley, Assistant Superintendent for Business Operations, Dr. Brian Turyna, Principal of Wiesbrook Elementary will also serve on the Facilitating Team. Jim Vroman, Vice President of the Board of Education and Brad Paulsen, Secretary of the Board of Education, will serve as the Board of Education liaisons on the team.

    The first Engage200 Session will be held on

    Wednesday, January 15th from 7:00 - 9:00 p.m.
    Monroe Middle School, 1855 Manchester Rd., Wheaton

    All District 200 residents are invited and encouraged to participate in this engagement process that will help guide the direction of the District in the future.

    For questions or to make sure you receive a personal invitation to the Engage200 sessions, email us at engage200@cusd200.org or call us 630-682-2469. You can also visit our website, www.cusd200.org, for more information. You can also find us on Facebook or follow us on Twitter @engage200.

    Thank you for your participation!

    Liz CorryScott Brown

    Liz Corry Scott Brown
Last Modified on January 3, 2014