• www.cusd200.org March 12, 2015
    The Board

    Board Appoints New Longfellow Principal

    On Wednesday, March 11, the Board of Education appointed Sean Walsh as principal of Longfellow Elementary School effective July 1, 2015. Mr. Walsh will be replacing retiring Principal Mrs. Dianne Thornburg. Thornburg has served 16 years in District 200 with her last eight years at Longfellow Elementary.

    Mr. Walsh is currently the Director of Learning at CCSD 181 in Hinsdale. Mr. Walsh began his career in education at Lowell Elementary in Wheaton in 1996. Since that time he has served as Assistant Principal at Virginia Lake Elementary and Assistant Principal and Principal at Thomas Jefferson School – both in Palatine CCSD 15. Prior to becoming the Director of Learning in Hinsdale 181, Mr. Walsh served as principal at Oak School in Hinsdale for nine years. Mr. Walsh received his B.A. in Elementary Education & History from Wheaton College, his M.E. in Educational Administration & Leadership at University of Illinois (Chicago) and is pursuing his Ed.D. in Educational Administration and Leadership at University of Illinois (Champaign-Urbana).     

    Board President Barbara Intihar said the entire Board was impressed with Mr. Walsh. "His instructional leadership will be an asset to Longfellow and to our entire school community. We are confident that Mr. Walsh will follow in Mrs. Thornburg’s footsteps very well and continue Longfellow’s tradition of high student achievement," says Intihar. 

    District 200 Superintendent Dr. Jeff Schuler is also fully confident that Mr. Walsh’s experience and unrelenting focus on students will serve the Longfellow Community extremely well. “Sean has served as principal in two high-achieving Blue Ribbon elementary schools. Our community values that same level of excellence,” says Schuler.   

    Mr. Walsh is looking forward to getting to know the students, staff, and parents of the Longfellow community. “I’m honored to be selected for this leadership position and to continue the well-established tradition of excellence at the school. I began my teaching career in District 200, so I’m very happy to be returning,” says Walsh.   

    Board of Education
    Barbara Intihar, President
    Jim Vroman, Vice President
    Brad Paulsen, Secretary
    Joann Coghill
    Jim Gambaiani
    Jim Mathieson
    Rosemary Swanson 
    Board of Education
    630-682-2002     board@cusd200.org
    facebook twitter